Incorporated as a Village in 1954, Willoughby Hills became a city in 1970 and the 2010 U.S. census reported our population at 9,485. Despite its growth, it is still considered one of the most picturesque communities in Northeastern Ohio, maintaining a delicate balance between country and city. Our motto “Where the City Meets the Country” means we strive to preserve our “rural atmosphere” while still meeting the needs of a growing suburban community.
Willoughby Hills encompasses nearly eleven square miles, through which the ChagrinRiver has carved a scenic valley to the east. The land through that valley is a flood plain, a precious natural resource that houses a variety of vegetation and wildlife. As a result, our city uniquely hosts three separate parkland agencies within its borders in addition our own city parks.
It was built in the 1890s by Feargus B. Squire for use as the gatekeeper’s house for his future country estate, which was never built. Squire, a founder of Standard Oil Company, bought the surrounding 525 acres of land but never completed the project. Squire sold the property in 1922 and the Cleveland Metroparks acquired it in 1925.
Today Squire’s Castle is open to the public free-of-admission. In 2008 the structure still had a roof, the interior was bare and open to the elements, and second story no longer had a floor. The Willoughby Hills Public Library annually holds a history seminar there. The surrounding park offers a footpath, riding trails, cooking grills, and a large grassy field.